skip navigation

(Boys) Star Tribune All Metro Player of the Year

2007 Star Tribune All-Metro Team

The Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper has selected an All-Metro first, second, and third players team of the year since the awards inception in 1985 with Tom Chorske winning the inaugural honors from Minneapolis Southwest. This award is not to be confused with the sponsored Minnesota Minute Men Mr. Hockey award that is a seperate award, but ironically - a lot of the All-Metro Star Tribune players of the year have gone onto capture the coveted Mr. Hockey award, that started the same year in 1985, with the same winner chosen in Tom Chorske. The All-Metro team and Metro Player of the year is chosen yearly before the State Tournament, whereas the Mr. Hockey banquet and award presentation is following the State Tournament.  The Star Tribune All-Metro award winner is based on nominations from metro-area coaches, Wisconsin and Minnesota Division I & II Coaches, and conversations with a panel of various coaches and Star Tribune high school writers obversations.  

Below is a listing of the boys all-metro players of the year award from 1985-present:

Year All-Metro Player of the Year Team
1985 Tom Chorske Minneapolis Southwest
1986 Scott Bloom/Jim Carroll Burnsville/Edina
1987 Jon Manthey Anoka
1988 Tom Pederson Bloomington Jefferson
1989 Trent Klatt Osseo
1990 Craig Johnson Hill-Murray
1991 Darby Hendrickson Richfield
1992 Brian Bonin White Bear Lake
1993 Nick Checco Bloomington Jefferson
1994 Mike Crowley Bloomington Jefferson
1995 Richie Anderson Elk River
1996 Shawn Pogreba St. Paul Johnson
1997 Dan Carlson Edina
1998 Johnny Pohl Red Wing
1999 Jeff Taffe/Dan Welch Hastings/Hastings
2000 Paul Martin Elk River
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville
2002 Travis Morin Osseo
2003 Mike Lundin Apple Valley
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial
2005 R.J. Anderson Centennial
2006 Jay Barriball Holy Angels
2007 Michael Dorr Roseville
2008 Jake Gardiner Minnetonka
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie
2012 Justin Kloos Lakeville South
2013 Grant Besse Benilde-St. Margaret's
2014 Brock Boeser Burnsville
2015 Dylan Malmquist Edina
2016 Riley Tufte Blaine
2017 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie
2018 Sammy Walker Edina
2019 Mike Koster Chaska
2020 Matthew Gleason Cretin-Derham Hall
2021 Kyle Kukkonen Maple Grove
2022 Drew Fisher Cretin-Derham Hall
2023 Will Ingemann Wayzata
2024 Hagen Burrows Minnetonka

2008 Star Tribune All-Metro Team - Image Courtesy Star Tribune

2013 Star Tribune All-Metro Team - Image Courtesy Star Tribune