skip navigation

Minnesota Mr. Defense - Reed Larson Award Winners

Reed Larson, a native of Minneapolis played on the blue line for the Teddies of Minneapolis Roosevelt High School and the University of Minnesota, followed by 904 regular season games in the NHL, most notably as captain of the Detroit Red Wings.  Larson completed his NHL career with 685 points and is a member of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, and Minneapolis Hockey Hall of Fame.  Beginning in 2013, no award existed exclusively for Minnesota's top high school blueliners.  With that in mind, Let's Play Hockey Magazine created the Reed Larson Award given annually to honor the states top Senior boys high school defenseman.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and on-ice performance.  The winner of the award is presented each March at one of the Boys' High School State Tournament banquets at Roy Wilkins Auditorium.

Year Award Winner School
2013 Jake Bischoff Grand Rapids
2014 Luc Snuggerud Eden Prairie
2015 Jacob Olson Hill-Murray
2016 Wyatt Aamodt Hermantown
2017 Dylan Samberg Hermantown
2018 Luke LaMaster Duluth East
2019 Mike Koster Chaska
2020 Wyatt Kaiser Andover
2021 Jack Peart Grand Rapids
2022 Leo Gruba Hill-Murray
2023 Chase Cheslock Rogers
2024 John Stout Minnetonka