skip navigation

(Boys) Herb Brooks Award Winners

The Herb Brooks award is given annually since 2004 to the most qualified hockey player in the state tournament who strongly represents the values, characteristics, and traits that defined Herb Brooks.  This prestigious sponsored award will commemorate the unending influence Herb Brooks had on the sport of hockey in Minnesota and throughout the world.

The selection committee comprises current and former high school hockey coaches and other hockey community members with connections to Herb. Herb’s son Dan and his daughter, Kelly Paradise, chair a committee that reviews nominations, observes nominees in state tournament games, and selects the winners.  Committee members may interview head coaches to discuss the nominee.

Winners are selected during the third period of the third-place game for Class AA and Class A tournament(s).  The winner’s coach is notified before the championship game, and the award presentation takes place at the conclusion of each championship game, for each class and each tournament (Boys & Girls).

Year and Class Award Winner Team
2004 Class AA Greg Flynn Centennial
2004 Class A Pat Dynan Orono
2005 Class AA Mike Wallgren Tartan
2005 Class A Jon Breuer Albert Lea
2006 Class AA Matt Olson Blaine
2006 Class A Karl Gilbert Hermantown
2007 Class AA Joe Stejskal Grand Rapids
2007 Class A Chad Huttel Hermantown
2008 Class AA Joe Phillippi Hill-Murray
2008 Class A Bryce Ravndalen Warroad
2009 Class AA Trent Johnson Moorhead
2009 Class A Riley Hirsch Little Falls
2010 Class AA Peter Sikich Apple Valley
2010 Class A Casey Myhre Virginia/Mountain Iron-Buhl
2011 Class AA David Garen White Bear Lake
2011 Class A A. J. Reid Saint Thomas Academy
2012 Class AA Michael Bitzer Moorhead
2012 Class A Joseph Hanowski Little Falls
2013 Class AA Ryan Lundgren Duluth East
2013 Class A Chris Benson Hermantown
2014 Class AA Zach Yon Roseau
2014 Class A Logan Norman Luverne
2015 Class AA Angelo Altavilla Lakeville North
2015 Class A Dixon Bowen East Grand Forks
2016 Class AA Jackson Cates Stillwater
2016 Class A Tyler Loe Mankato West
2017 Class AA Micah Miller Grand Rapids
2017 Class A Charlie Voller Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake
2018 Class AA Joe Molenaar Minnetonka
2018 Class A Jackson Boline Alexandria
2019 Class AA Jack Jensen Eden Prairie
2019 Class A Donte Lawson Greenway/Nashwauk-Keewatin
2020 Class AA Will Svenddal Blake School
2020 Class A Colin Hagstrom Mahtomedi
2021 Class AA Cade Ahrenholz Lakeville South
2021 Class A Landon Parker East Grand Forks
2022 Class AA Weston Knox Andover
2022 Class A Matt Hard Warroad
2023 Class AA Jack Erickson Hill-Murray
2023 Class A David Wolsfeld Mahtomedi
2024 Class AA Harper Searles Centennial
2024 Class A Jake Geiger Northfield