skip navigation

(Girls) Herb Brooks Award Winners

The Herb Brooks award is given annually since 2004 to the most qualified hockey player in the state tournament who strongly represents the values, characteristics, and traits that defined Herb Brooks.  This prestigious sponsored award will commemorate the unending influence Herb Brooks had on the sport of hockey in Minnesota and throughout the world.

The selection committee comprises current and former high school hockey coaches and other hockey community members with connections to Herb. Herb’s son Dan and his daughter, Kelly Paradise, chair a committee that reviews nominations, observes nominees in state tournament games, and selects the winners.  Committee members may interview head coaches to discuss the nominee.

Winners are selected during the third period of the third-place game for Class AA and Class A tournament(s).  The winner’s coach is notified before the championship game, and the award presentation takes place at the conclusion of each championship game, for each class and each tournament (Girls & Boys).

Year and Class Award Winner Team
2004 Class AA Molly McDonald Lakeville
2004 Class A Danny Blacker Hibbing Chisholm
2005 Class AA Kellye Nelson Centennial
2005 Class A Kayla Hagen Hibbing Chisholm
2006 Class AA Chelsey Jones Stillwater Area
2006 Class A Brittany Dunkel Warroad
2007 Class AA Lindsey Mortinson Burnsville
2007 Class A Abby Williams Alexandria
2008 Class AA Emily Erickson Grand Rapids/Greenway
2008 Class A Ashley Holmes Alexandria
2009 Class AA Gina McDonald Irondale
2009 Class A Rosie Alleva Red Wing
2010 Class AA Caitie Morris Edina
2010 Class A Fallon Macemon Hutchinson
2011 Class AA Carolyn Draayer Minnetonka
2011 Class A Amanda Arbogast Eveleth-Gilbert
2012 Class AA Sydney Helmbrecht Grand Rapids/Greenway
2012 Class A Cori Fairbanks Red Wing
2013 Class AA McKenzie Johnson Eden Prairie
2013 Class A Katie Dye Hibbing/Chisholm
2014 Class AA Bella Sutton Mounds View
2014 Class A Reilly Fawcett Proctor/Hermantown
2015 Class AA Makayla Tilton Blake School
2015 Class A Frances Marshall Thief River Falls
2016 Class AA Kaitlyn VanTassel Forest Lake
2016 Class A Sophie McGovern Proctor/Hermantown
2017 Class AA Emily Brown Blaine
2017 Class A Lilly Rewertz Hibbing/Chisholm
2018 Class AA Anneke Linser Centennial
2018 Class A Alli Beltz New Ulm
2019 Class AA Jenna Gerold Farmington
2019 Class A Katherine Solohub Breck School
2020 Class AA Anika Stoskopf Roseau
2020 Class A Taylor Nelson Cloquet-Esko-Carlton
2021 Class AA Rory Guilday Minnetonka
2021 Class A Abbey Hardwick Warroad
2022 Class AA Maggie Malecha Northfield
2022 Class A Iyla Ryskamp Orono
2023 Class AA Lauren O'Hara Centennial/Spring Lake Park
2023 Class A Annaliese Rader Mankato East
2024 Class AA Samantha Peterson Roseau
2024 Class A Rebecca Dawson Willmar