skip navigation

(Girls) Star Tribune All Metro Player of the Year

2011 Star Tribune All-Metro Team

The Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper has selected an All-Metro first, second, and third players team of the year since the awards inception in 1995 with Jamie DeGriselles winning the inaugural honors from Apple Valley. This award is not to be confused with the sponsored Ms. Hockey Award that is seperate, but ironically - a lot of the All-Metro Star Tribune players of the year have gone onto capture the coveted Ms. Hockey award, that started a year later in 1996.  The All-Metro team and Metro Player of the year is chosen yearly before the State Tournament, whereas the Ms. Hockey banquet and award presentation is following the State Tournament.  The Star Tribune Girls All-Metro award winner is based on nominations from metro-area coaches, Wisconsin and Minnesota Division I & II Coaches, and conversations with a panel of various coaches and Star Tribune high school writers obversations.

Below is a listing of the girls all-metro players of the year award from 1995-present:

Year All-Metro Player of the Year Team
1995 Jamie DeGriselles Apple Valley
1996 Winny Brodt Roseville
1997 Ronda Curtin Roseville
1998 Natalie Darwitz Eagan
1999 Krissy Wendell Park Center
2000 Krissy Wendell Park Center
2001 Renee Curtin & Jody Horak Curtin-Roseville/Horak-Blaine
2002 Ashley Albrecht South St. Paul
2003 Erica McKenzie Hastings
2004 Erica McKenzie Hastings
2005 Maggie Fisher South St. Paul
2006 Chelsey Jones Stillwater
2007 Katharine Chute Blake School
2008 Lauren Smith Holy Angels
2009 Becky Kortum Hopkins
2010 Bethany Brausen Roseville
2011 Meghan Lorence Irondale
2012 Hannah Brandt Hill-Murray
2013 Dani Cameranesi Blake School
2014 Sydney Baldwin Minnetonka
2015 Taylor Williamson Edina
2016 Presley Norby Minnetonka
2017 Grace Zumwinkle Breck
2018 Gabbie Hughes Centennial
2019 Madeline Wethington Blake School
2020 Olivia Mobley Breck
2021 Emma Conner Edina
2022 Vivian Jungels Edina
2023 Ava Lindsay Minnetonka
2024 Josie St. Martin Stillwater

2013 Star Tribune All-Metro Team - Image Courtesy Star Tribune

2019 Star Tribune All-Metro Team - Image Courtesy Star Tribune