skip navigation

John Mariucci Award - List of Past Recipients

Since 1983 this award has been given to the high school coach of the year as selected by the State's hockey coaches.  The award is given in memory of the great John Mariucci, who was a legend in Minnesota hockey and one of Minnesota's greatest sports figures.

A native of Eveleth, John played for the Chicago Blackhawks at a time when very few Americans were able to play in the National Hockey League.  He later coached the University of Minnesota hockey team for many years, and the hockey arena on the University campus bears his name.  John was a lifelong promoter and supporter of the Minnesota hockey player and remained so until his death in 1987.  Winners of this award are listed in the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

Year (Class) Coach School/Affiliation
1983 Larry Ross International Falls
1984 Jerry Peterson Bloomington Kennedy
1985 Larry Ross International Falls
1986 Tom Osiecki Burnsville
1987 Bob Gernander Greenway
1988 Bill Olson Hibbing
1989 Bill Vuckonich Duluth Denfeld
1990 Lyn Ellingson Grand Rapids
1991 Jeff Whisler Hill-Murray
1992 Terry Cullen Moorhead
1993 Tom Saterdalen Bloomington Jefferson
1994 AA Russ Welch South St. Paul
1994 A Shawn Anderson Farmington
1995 AA Earnest "Bucky" Kendig St. Paul Johnson
1995 AA Steve "Moose" Younghans St. Paul Johnson
1995 A Todd Grina Hutchinson
1996 AA Bart Larson Edina
1996 A Cary Eades Warroad
1997 AA Mark DeCenzo Hibbing
1997 A George Nemanich Red Wing
1998 AA Bruce Olson Roseau
1998 A Bruce Plante Hermantown
1999 AA Bruce Olson Roseau
1999 A Mike Guzzo Silver Bay
2000 AA Steve Larson Blaine
2000 A Sheldon Weston Sauk Rapids
2001 AA Bruce Johnson Robbinsdale Armstrong
2001 A Jay Ness Rochester Lourdes
2002 AA Tom Saterdalen Bloomington Jefferson
2002 A George Nemanich Red Wing
2003 AA Steve Sertich Roseville
2003 A Chris Lonke New Prague
2004 AA Erik Aus Centennial
2004 A Todd Weisjahn Orono
2005 AA John Humphreys Tartan
2005 A Keith Hendrickson Virginia
2006 AA Bruce Laroque Grand Rapids
2006 A Bruce Plante Hermantown
2007 AA Wes Bolin Woodbury
2007 A Bruce Plante Hermantown
2008 AA Curt Giles Edina
2008 A Ken Essay Mankato West
2009 AA Jeff Poeschl Mahtomedi
2009 A Lee Smith Eden Prairie
2010 AA Jerry Hayes Apple Valley
2010 A Kevin Smalley Duluth Denfeld
2011 AA Tim Sager White Bear Lake
2011 A Mark DeCenzo Hibbing/Chisholm
2011 A Bruce Plante Hermantown
2012 AA Ken Pauly Benilde-St. Margaret's
2012 A Bruce Plante Hermantown
2013 AA Mike Randolph Duluth East
2013 A Kevin Smalley Duluth Denfeld
2014 AA Mike Taylor Eagan
2014 A Derrick Brown Luverne
2015 AA Wade Chiodo Bemidji
2015 A Tom Benson Spring Lake Park
2016 AA Pat O'Leary Wayzata
2016 A Chris Olson Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato
2017 AA Dave Esse Cloquet
2017 A Steve "Moose" Younghans St. Paul Johnson
2018 AA Jeremiah Johnson St. Michael/Albertville
2018 A Grant Clafton Greenway
2019 AA Mark Manney Andover
2019 A Jeff Poeschl Mahtomedi
2020 AA Wade Chiodo Grand Rapids
2020 A Jay Hardwick Warroad
2021 AA Kevin Wiley Osseo
2021 A Tony Couture Little Falls
2022 AA Todd Bergland Maple Grove
2022 A Joe Dziedzic Minneapolis
2023 AA Wes Bolin Woodbury
2023 A Mike Luckraft Northfield

John Mariucci - 1956 USA Hockey Head Coach

Eveleth, MN natives - John Mariucci (L) and John Mayasich (R)