skip navigation

Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of Year Award

In 1999, Let’s Play Hockey established the Senior Goalie of the Year Award with Katie Beauduy of Blaine named the first winner.  Unlike the Boys' Brimsek/Mr. Goalie award, the Let's Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, a.k.a. Ms. Goalie Award, is sponsored by Let's Play Hockey Magazine.  This annual award is given to the states top goaltender,  the award has been presented at the Ms. Hockey Award banquet following the State Tournament.  With the success of the Ms. Hockey Award, it only seemed natural to honor the top senior playing girls' hockey goaltender in Minnesota with a similar award.

The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is presented to the top senior girls' high school hockey goaltender in the state, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and on-ice performance.

The candidates are identified based on nominations by their coaches.  The selection of the top 10 candidates, then the five finalists, and ultimately the winner, is based on consultations with a panel of Division I and III college women’s coaches from the states of Minnesota and Wisconsin, as well as a panel of high school coaches.

Year Name Team
1999 Katie Beauduy Blaine
2000 Shari Vogt River Lakes
2001 Jody Horak Blaine
2002 Amber Hasbargen Warroad
2003 Robin Doepke Chaska
2004 Emily Brookshaw Hill-Murray
2005 Johanna Ellison Cloquet/Esko/Carlton
2006 Alannah McCready Centennial
2007 Ashley Nixon Blaine
2008 Alyssa Grogan Eagan
2009 Laura Bellamy Duluth Northern Stars
2010 Kallie Billadeau Hopkins
2011 Julie Friend Hopkins
2012 Erika Allen Roseville
2013 Sydney Rossman Minnetonka
2014 Erin O'Neil Hopkins
2015 Frances Marshall Thief River Falls
2016 Jenna Brenneman Breck School
2017 Breanna Blesi Maple Grove
2018 Alexa Dobchuk Eden Prairie
2019 Calla Frank White Bear Lake
2020 Anna LaRose North Wright County
2021 Brynn Dulac Minnetonka
2022 Maggie Malecha Northfield
2023 Uma Corniea Edina