skip navigation

June 24th

  • Jun
  • 24
June 24th
  • All Day Event   Ical event icon

1946:  Former NHL defenseman Tom Reid born in Fort Erie, Ontario.  Reid played in the NHL 1967-68 through 1977-78 with Chicago and the Minnesota North Stars.

1965:  Former NHL right winger Shane Churla born in Fernie, B.C.  Churla played in the NHL 1986-87 through 1996-97 with Hartford, Calgary, the Minnesota North Stars, Dallas, Los Angeles and the New York Rangers.

1995:  Neal Broten set a team playoff record with his 4th game winner as the Devils won 5-2, to beat the Red Wings in four games to win the 1995 Stanley Cup Championship (For the first time in franchise history). Claude Lemieux was the Conn Smythe trophy winner.

2000:  New York Islanders traded center Olli Jokinen and goalie Roberto Luongo to the Florida Panthers in exchange for left wing Oleg Kvasha and right wing Mark Parrish.

2006:  St. Louis Blues selected Erik Johnson as the #1 overall pick, at the 2006 NHL Entry Draft, in Vancouver. Washington took Nicklas Backstrom with the 4th pick, and Boston used their 50th overall choice to grab Milan Lucic.

2006:  Calgary acquired forward Alex Tanguay from the Colorado Avalanche in exchange for defenseman Jordan Leopold, a 2006 second round pick (Codey Burki) and a conditional second round pick in 2007 (Trevor Cann).

2006:  Minnesota Wild obtained Pavol Demitra from the Los Angeles Kings in exchange for prospect Patrick O'Sullivan and the first round pick in the 2006 Entry Draft (Trevor Lewis).

2010:  Minnesota Wild named former Wild player Brad Bombardir Director of Player Development.

2010:  Atlanta Thrashers obtained Dustin Byfuglien, Ben Eager, Brent Sopel and prospect Akim Aliu from Chicago in exchange for a first and second round picks in 2010 plus Jeremy Morin, Marty Reasoner and Joseph Crabb.

2011:  The 49th annual NHL Entry Draft was held on this date for two days on June 24-25th at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, MN.  The top three picks consisted of Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Oilers), Gabriel Landeskog (Avalanche) and Jonathan Huberdeau (Panthers).  Mario Lucia, of Wayzata MN was drafted in the second round, 60th overall by the home-town Minnesota Wild.

2011:  San Jose Sharks acquired Brent Burns and a second round selection in the 2012 NHL Entry Draft from the Minnesota Wild in exchange for Devin Setoguchi, Charlie Coyle and a first round selection (28th overall) in the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.

2013:  Minnesota Wild Goaltender - Niklas Backstrom re-signed to a three year contract.

2015:  Jordan Leopolds' family and daughter Jordyn was awarded the NHL's "Social Media Moment" of the year for her letter that was written to the Minnesota Wild to sign her Dad, and "bring him home to Minnesota to play NHL hockey", at the NHL Award Show in Las Vegas.

2015:  Minnesota Wild goaltender - Devan Dubnyk won the Masterton Trophy awarded for great perseverance and dedication to hockey at the NHL Award Show in Las Vegas, becoming the 2nd Wild goaltender to capture the award in three years (Josh Harding in 2013).

2015:  Minnesota Wild goaltender - Devan Dubnyk was named to the NHL's Second All-Star team, and finished 4th in Hart Trophy voting at the NHL Award Show in Las Vegas.

2016:  Minnesota Wild bought out the final year of forward Thomas Vanek's contract.

2016:  Minnesota Wild selected centerman Luke Kunin in the 2016 NHL Entry Draft, 1st round 15th overall.

Tag(s): This Day In MN History