skip navigation

Minnesota High School Hockey Timeline/Milestones

1890’s-1903: Official start of high school hockey play across Minnesota.

1900: First state mythical State Championship tournament is held.

1922: St. Paul Central defeated Duluth Central (5-3) in Duluth for states first official “North vs. South” game.

1923: Eveleth beat St. Paul Mechanic Arts (9-2) for the second state mythical State Championship.

1928: High school hockey played at approximately 25 schools in Minnesota.

1945: The first annual Minnesota State High School Hockey Tournament is played at the St. Paul Auditorium.

1947: The tournament is on radio for the first time, as Roseau’s games are broadcast back to northwestern Minnesota.

1947: St. Paul Johnson becomes the first school from the southern part of Minnesota to win the tournament, defeating Roseau 2-1 for the title.

1949: Minnesota private school - Independent League Prep School Championship took place with Cretin capturing the first title.  League existed from 1949-1974.

1951: Eveleth wins a record setting fourth straight championship with a 4-1 win over St. Paul Johnson in the deciding game.

1955: In the longest tournament game ever played Minneapolis South defeats Thief River Falls 3-2 in 11 overtimes.

1955: St. Paul Johnson defeats Minneapolis Southwest 3-1 in the first all-southern championship game in tournament history.

1959: Tournament founder; Gene Aldrich, passes away on February 26, 1959.

1961: The tournament in on television for the first time, as the third place and championship games are shown.

1969: The tournament is moved from the St. Paul Auditorium and is played for the first time at the Metropolitan Sports Center in Bloomington.

1970: As a result of expansion of the regular season for many teams, the time of the tournament is moved from February to March.

1975: Private schools are allowed into Minnesota State High School League play for the first time, and into the tournament.

1976: The tournament is moved back to St. Paul, this time to the Civic 

1991:  State Tournament All-Tournament teams re-introduced after being discontinued following the 1972 Tournament.  The MSHSL new premiere corporate partner at the time, First Bank (later U.S. Bank) sponsored the awards.

1992: Tier I and Tier II structure adopted.

1993: 146 teams participated in high school hockey.

1994: Class AA and A structure adopted.

1999: Tournament moved to Target Center in Minneapolis.

2001: Tournament moved to the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, home 
of the NHL’s Minnesota Wild

2003: Period length changed from 15 to 17 minutes.

2007: Coaches seed top four teams in each class.